I Write Stuff

All the good blog names were taken.

Recapping 1962-1966

Leave a comment

As I noted previously, I started this on Facebook. Before I continue, I wanted to recap the first 10 years of my journey here. These are the original posts from my FB page.

===============================================================================================================

I have a birthday coming up, so I’m picking a song from each year of my life and posting one a day until I finish or get bored. (Obviously I crapped out on the whole “one a day” thing). The year I was born, the Beatles released their first single. (There is no correlation between these events despite what you might have heard.) I felt this was both appropriate, since they were my first real taste of rock and roll as a child, and it marks the beginning of the career of arguably the most important artists of any generation.

In 1963, I was celebrated my first birthday, and Surf Music was sweeping the West Coast, spearheaded by artists like Dick Dale and the Del-Tones, The Ventures, and The Beach Boys. Surf music helped usher in the widespread use of guitar effects like distortion and reverb, and its sound has been credited as the seeds of heavy metal. In April 1963, “Pipeline” by The Chantays reached #4 on the Billboard 100. This is the original recording, which is unique in that The Chantays had a keyboard player. Most cover versions feature the iconic piano parts on guitar.

In 1964 I was 2, and the Beatles held the top two songs of the year on the Billboard 100, followed closely by Louie Armstrong and Dean Martin. Quite an eclectic mix. The British Invasion was in full swing, and this catchy song by  Manfred Mann with a unforgettable sing-along chorus hit # 15 on the charts.

In 1965 I was 3, and Motown records was bombarding the charts with hit after hit from their stellar family of artists. One of the most successful bands on the label was also the first band signed when legendary producer Berry Gordy founded Motown. Smokey Robinson and the Miracles charted 26 top 10 hits, including this gem, one of my favorites of the era.
Hi folks, Now that I’m on the other side of the super-flu, time to get back in the saddle. In 1966 I was 4, and its was a very good year for music. So good in fact that I picked two songs. My first selection is dark, brooding song wrapped in a facade of West Coast pop. I’ve always found it quite haunting and beautiful. The Mamas & the Papas vocal harmonies were always amazing, and this song showcases them perfectly.

Another entry for 1966, going from From West Coast Folk to East Coast Folk. My second selection is another example of the folk-pop movement that was exploding on both coasts, our theme today I guess. This one needs no introduction, but I will say this video is quite a gem, a rare live performance with excellent sound quality.

Author: Bruce

Music lover, Writer, TechNerd, Outdoorsman, Foodie, Gamer, NFL obsessed

Leave a Reply

